

BC THOROUGHBRED OWNERS & BREEDERS ASSOCIATION

"One Voice for Thoroughbred Owners & Breeders in British Columbia"

December 4, 2015

BC TOBA Newsletter By Mike Heads

2015 Thoroughbred Awards

The official closing to the 2015 thoroughbred season was at Newlands Golf Course as both equine and human accomplishments were being honoured last night.

The Hastings Racing Club's **Square Dancer** took home the trophy for Open Horse-of-the-Year while the Russ and Lois Bennett's **Touching Promise** was the recipient of the B.C. bred Horse-of-the-Year.

The divisional honours went as follows:

2yo filly (open and BC) - C U At Eau Claire 2yo (open and BC) - Stanz In Command 3yo filly (BC) - Quatre Cat 3yo filly (open) - Academic 3yo (BC) a triple dead-heat - Catz On Fire, Cederberg, Mighty Fraser 3yo (open) - Bluegrass Angus Older Mare (open and BC) - Touching Promise Older C&G (BC) - Brass and Gold Older C&G (open) - Square Dancer Champion Sprinter - Modern Lower Claimer Award - At The Ritz Upper Claimer Award - Brackendale

The B.C. Horse Racing Hall-of-Fame opened its doors to **Dan Jukich**, **Dixie Jacobson** and 2012 Queens Plate winner **Strait of Dover**.

Harold Barroby was deservedly recognized for his decades of tireless work on the backstretch and received the 2015 HBPA Backstretch Award.

The General Manager of Teletheatre BC Bill MacNeill presented **Harold Barroby** with a special award for his long standing work on the Teletheatre BC board.



Page

The Diamond Award of Excellence was given to **Glen Todd**, **Richard Yates** and **Darren MacDonald** for their creation and successful running of the Hastings Racing Club.

Mike Anderson's 34 wins earned him the honour as the leading trainer and **Richard Hamel** visited the winner's circle 74 times on his way to the 2015 riding title. **Russ and Lois Bennett's** 19 victories gave them the top owner trophy.

The leading breeders of 2015 were **Russ and Lois Bennett**; Karen Nordahl's **Excited Miss** was named the top broodmare; **Rosberg** was leading juvenile sire and **Second in Command** was the top stallion.

The CTHS honoured 25 year members **Doug Clyde**, **Nicole Wylie**, **Doug Corrigan**, **Barry Lee** and **Ross McNaughton**.